Paying a fine is a guilty plea. The DOT will issue points based on the charge and assess them against your license. This may result in further problems, including suspension of your license.
Traffic offenses vary widely between small fines to felony charges and often carry points or license suspensions. Most people charged with traffic offenses know only of the fines involved, but do not appreciate the potential for suspension or the effect of points on your license.
If you plead guilty to No Insurance, you will automatically lose your license for 6 months in addition to any other penalties. An attorney can often help you get your license or insurance and may be able to convince the prosecutor/court to amend to the charges.
Drivers over 18 years of age can accrue up to 12 points prior to suspension of their license. Once they reach 12 points, a suspension hearing will be scheduled with the Department of Transportation.
Current Point System in Kentucky:
- Speeding 10mph or less on Limited Access Hwy – 0 points
- Improper Turn or Lane Change – 3 points
- Speeding on Limited Access Hwy 11-15 mph – 3 points
- Speeding Other Road 0-15 mph – 3 points
- Texting While Driving – 3 points
- Following Too Closely – 4 points
- Reckless Driving – 4 points
- Speeding 16-25 mpg – 6 points
- DUI – 6 points
- Speeding > 25 mph – automatic hearing
- Attempting to Elude – automatic hearing
- Racing – automatic hearing
Even if the charges are largely indefensible, often a charge may be amended or pled down with the assistance of an attorney. Knowledge of the system and what defenses may be available are the keys to an acceptable resolution. Most cases and may be very inexpensive to hire good local counsel.
For consultation in Northern Kentucky, contact Michael Bouldin by contact for, email [email protected] or call 581-581-6453.