If you are looking for a DUI attorney, you should first consider using one that regularly practices in the area where you will stand trial. The next logical question is whether that attorney has the experience to handle your case.
As a DUI Defense attorney for well over 20 years, the most common question remains, Should I blow? Unfortunately the answer is not quite so simple as yes or no. First, know your rights:
If I refuse breathalyzer in Kentucky, what are the consequences?
As a DUI defense lawyer for over 20 years, I find the practice being much the same but how clients find lawyers has changed. While most of my clients are referrals, the yellow pages are a relic of the past. The internet is often used, but I recently learned that nearly half of internet searches begin with a spoken question to Siri, Alexa or Google.
If you want to avoid a DUI, Uber Everwhere is the new slogan used amongst the younger generation. While this is a great idea if you are out drinking on this Thanksgiving weekend, people often forget that idea and choose to drive after drinking.
Most Thanksgiving weekends I write about DUI arrests due the increased numbers over this special holiday. The local police have an increased presence from Wednesday through Saturday night of Thanksgiving weekend; Wednesday being traditionally the highest DUI arrests of any night each year.
If you want to beat a Icharge, start with the basics - Hire an experienced DUI defense attorney that has a history of trying cases and winning. I have been defending DUI cases for over 23 years. In the past 2 weeks alone I have had three DUI cases set for trial. All three of those were dismissed as to the DUI charges; whether by an informed prosecutor or following a trial.
In DUI cases, there are occasions where a person charged may take both the blood alcohol test and the breathalyzer test. There are times when the results vary that can be used to aid in defending the case.
In June, 2016 the Kentucky legislature changed the DUI look-back period from 5 to 10 years. The look-back period is the time that a Defendant will have the charge remaining on his record and is subject to greater and enhanced penalties for a second or subsequent offense. This was challenged by a large number of defendants, primarily because they had been told after a finding of guilt that it would result in a 2nd DUI if they got another one within the next 5 years. Additionally, the plea agreements were for anyone pleading guilty, specifically advised the defendant that a 2nd offense within 5 years would result in greater penalties.