This is an advertisement

Bouldin Law Firm
Get The Help You Need: 859-581-6453 (MIKE)
View Our Legal Services

What Does a DUI Cost in Kentucky?

I am often asked, "What is the cost of a DUI in Kentucky?"  The answer can be as simple as the legal fees involved, but the real answer is much more complex. The cost for increases in insurance rates vary according to your insurer.  That said, the best estimate is between $1,200 the first year, which is basically an absolute minimum to over $40,000 over the next 13 years.  Generally most insurance companies will double the rate for insurance once a driver is convicted of a DUI offense.  Also, a DUI stays on your record for 5 years, so the minimum is generally $6,000. If convicted, other costs include $750-1000 in court costs and fees.  This includes the state mandated DUI service fee as well as the statutory fine of $200-500 for a first offense.  The court will also mandate an Alcohol and Drug Evaluation, $60 plus mandatory classes which can be from $120-500.  The division of drivers' licensing will also charge a reinstatement fee which is $40 in Kentucky (note: Kentucky reinstatement fee is among the least expensive in the country). Also involved is potential for 3-30 days of incarceration, which generally translates to lost income.  Also is loss of license for 30-180 days. Remember, these all all for FIRST OFFENSES.  The breakdown is as follows: If convicted:                                                                                    If acquitted: $0 - $5,000                           LEGAL FEES                                 $1,200 - $5,000 $750 - $1,000                      COURT COSTS/FINES               $0 $6,000 - $40,000               INSURANCE INCREASE         $0 $180 - $560                           DUI CLASSES                               $0 $40                                             REINSTATEMENT FEE            $0 yes                                               LOSS OF LICENSE                      no (*unless refusal) possible                                     INCARCERATION                     no As you can see, the cost can be very expensive if you are convicted of a DUI, even a first offense in Kentucky.  If you have been charged with a DUI you need to know your rights and speak with a criminal and DUI defense attorney.  In Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati, contact Michael Bouldin for a consultation at 859-581-6453 or email mwbouldin2@gmail.com . 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

A Law Firm Serving Northern Kentucky And Southwestern Ohio

Get Started Contact us Now »

Contact Us To Discuss Your Legal Matter Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy